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      LOUISIANA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION        
 

PROCEDURE AND RELATED INFORMATION FOR MAKING APPLICATION TO THE LOUISIANA 
PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION FOR CHARTER BUS TRANSPORTATION IN VEHICLES CARRYING 

16 PASSENGERS OR MORE 
 
 

GUIDELINES AND PROCEDURES FOR CHARTER BUS TRANSPORTATION 
 
The following rules will apply pursuant to the Commission’s General Order dated April 21, 1999 regarding the Guidelines 
and Procedures for Charter Bus Transportation. This order contains the following definition of “Charter Bus”:  
 

“Charter Bus is a passenger carrier with a seating capacity of 16 or more and is engaged or hired by a particular 
organization or group of persons for their exclusive use for a specific purpose or journey, or during a specific 
period of time. This definition does not include regular route buses.” 
 

 
 

INSURANCE 
 

Pursuant to La. RS 45:163 et seq. and General Order dated April 21, 1999, insurance companies qualified to do business 
in Louisiana must file proof of insurance by submitting a Form E on behalf of the applicant with the minimum limits of 
$250,000/$500,000/$10,000. Insurance filings required prior to the issuance of a Louisiana Intrastate 
Registration/Insurance Receipt must be maintained. Any lapse of insurance coverage will cause the carrier to be directed 
to cease operations in Louisiana, cited for failure to maintain the required insurance on file and possible revocation of 
their registration. (This requirement does not affect or supersede any other insurance requirements established by any 
other agency within the state of Louisiana) 
 
 

OWNER/OPERATOR LEASES 
 

Any utilization of owner/operators by a registered Charter Bus Transportation carrier will require the carrier place on file, 
prior to transportation and for duration of the lease period, a statement that owner/operators vehicle(s) is covered by and 
operating under the carrier’s insurance. This statement must contain the owner/operator’s name, address and description 
of covered vehicles. A copy of the carriers registration/insurance receipt must be carried in the vehicle. If the carrier so 
chooses, he may file a copy of the carrier/lessor lease agreement in lieu of the required statement.  

 
 
INITIAL NEW CARRIER REGISTRATION  

 
All new entrants into the Charter Bus transportation business must register using enclosed application, pay a $10.00 per 
vehicle fee and file proof of insurance as outlined above prior to commencing operation. Application may be mailed to: 
Louisiana Public Service Commission; PO BOX 91154; Baton Rouge, LA 70821.  Upon, receipt of the carrier’s 
registration application, payment and Form E filing, the Commission will issue a registration/insurance receipt, which 
authorizes the carrier to commence operations. A copy of the receipt must be carried on board all vehicles, including 
leased vehicles; being operated in intrastate commerce at all times for presentation to law enforcement officials upon 
demand. Failure to comply with this requirement shall subject the carrier to possible citation and/or fines and any other 
enforcement procedures provided by law. 
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RENEWALS 
 
Louisiana Intrastate Registration/Insurance Receipt must be renewed annually by filing an application and paying the 
required $10.00 per vehicle fee.  However, if a carrier also holds interstate operating authority from the ICC/FMCSA and 
has registered that authority with its base state under the Unified Carrier Registration (UCR), then the UCR registration 
receipt will be accepted as payment in lieu of the $10.00 Registration/Insurance renewal fee. The carrier will still be 
required to register as a Charter Bus Transportation carrier by filing an application, copy of UCR receipt and insurance 
(Form E) but will not be required to pay the $10.00 per vehicle fee again if it was paid under the UCR program.  
 
Carriers not in full compliance with registration and current insurance filings are subject to involuntary suspension of 
operations, cancellation of filings, penalties, and/or impoundment of vehicles. 
 

SUSPENSION OF RIGHTS OR CHANGES TO COMPANY INFORMATION 
 
Suspension - If a carrier’s business will be dormant for a short period of time, they may request a suspension of authority 
in writing. The letter must be notarized and give detail as to why the business is dormant, before the LPSC will consider 
granting such a request. 
 
Changes To Company Information - If a carrier’s company information, such as name, address, contact information or 
any other relevant information, changes it is the CARRIERS responsibility to make those changes with the Commission in 
writing using the proper forms which may be obtain by contacting the LPSC’s main office. 
 
 

ANNUAL REPORTS AND QUARTERLY INSPECTION & SUPERVISION FEES 
 
 
Annual Reports: All intrastate carriers subjected to regulation by the Louisiana Public Service Commission through its 
Transportation Enforcement Division are REQUIRED to file Annual Reports with the division as required by General 
Order 2 dated July 21, 1921 and General Order dated April 23, 2001 amended June 19, 2012.  The report must be received 
in this office on or before April 30 of each year for those filing on a calendar year basis and one hundred twenty (120) 
days after the fiscal year has ended for those filing on a fiscal year basis. Carriers wishing to file on a fiscal year basis 
must notify the commission of its status in writing upon being granted authority.  Carriers who file after the April 30th due 
date (or the 120-day date for *fiscal carriers) are subject to a $500.00 Late Filing Fee and a Citation Fee of $25.00 will be 
added to the $500 Late Fee if the carrier is cited. It is the carrier’s responsibility to be able to prove the report was 
mailed prior to the due date. Use a certificate of mailing or certified mail receipt (Green Card) and KEEP YOUR 
RECEIPT along with a copy of the annual report for your records  
 
An Extension may be requested in writing prior to the deadline. You will be notified if your request was accepted or 
denied.  
 
If you have not received the ANNUAL REPORT FORM by February 15, you may contact the Transportation Division at 
(888) 342-5717 or (225) 342-4439 OR visit the Commission’s website (www.lpsc.louisiana.gov; MOTOR CARRIERS; 
ANNUAL REPORTS) to download a copy. IT IS THE CARRIER’S RESPONSIBILITY TO OBTAIN THE ANNUAL 
REPORT FORM EACH YEAR AND TO FILE IN A TIMELY MANNER.  
 

 
*FISCAL CALENDAR EXAMPLES: 

  
Smith Trucking, Inc. wishes to change from a calendar year basis to a fiscal year basis beginning June 1, XX (any year). The LPSC will need,  1) A Notarized Letter 
from company owner, CEO, Manager, or Board stating the accounting change and the effective date. (i.e. “Smith Trucking, Inc. is changing to a fiscal calendar with 
fiscal year beginning June1”) 2) The Annual Report for the period of change needs to reflect continuous annual reporting. (i.e. “If the new fiscal calendar begins June 1, 
2007, the Commission will need financial data (annual reporting) for the period January 1, 2007 through May 31, 2007. This insures a continuous flow of reporting for 
all months of a given year, even the year in which the change occurred.) 
 
Quarterly Inspection and Supervision: Motor carriers under the jurisdiction of the LPSC are also assessed Inspection and 
Supervision fees which are collected by the Department of Revenue.  A copy of your certificate will be sent to their 
agency once granted and you will receive more information on filing the reports and fees. (L.R.S. 45: 1177-1179) 
 
 

 

http://www.lpsc.louisiana.gov/
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LOUISIANA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
Transportation Division 

Post Office Box 91154  Baton Rouge, LA  70821-9154 

Telephone:  (888) 342-5717 or (225) 342-4439     LPSC Website: www.lpsc.louisiana.gov  
 

APPLICATION FOR LOUISIANA INTRASTATE REGISTRATION AND INSURANCE  
CERTIFICATE BY CHARTER BUS SEATING 16 PASSENGERS OR MORE 

 

LPSC OFFICE USE ONLY FILE 

# 

ASSIGNED  

RI # 

 
BUSINESS ENTITY- APPLICANT INFORMATION 

SECTION 1 
 

Business Entity Name: 
 

DBA: 
(Including any doing business as “dba” name) 

Business Entity’s Authorized Representative: 

Business Address: 

City: State: ZIP Code: 

Mailing Address:  

City: State: ZIP Code: 

Telephone # (Include Area Code)                                                                        Fax # (Include Area Code)     Cell # (Include Area Code) 

Email Address: 

 
FEIN #:   

   -        OR SS# 
 

   -   -     

COMPANY TAX REPORTING YEAR (Check ONLY one box) 
 

     Company’s Tax reporting year is on a CALENDAR basis reporting January 01 to December 31 each year. 
     Company’s Tax reporting year is on a FISCAL basis reporting from _____________ to _____________ each year. 

                                                                                                                                                                             Month/Day                    Month/Day 
 COMPANY OWNERSHIP AND/OR INTEREST 
 

Check    Louisiana Domestic Corporation        Date of Incorporation______________________ 
one        Louisiana Domestic Limited Liability Company (LLC)   Date of Formation _____________________________ 
box     Louisiana Domestic Partnership    Date of Formation __________________________  
    Louisiana Limited Liability Partnership   Date of Formation __________________________  
    Foreign* Corporation in the State of __________   Date of Incorporation______________________ 
    Foreign* Limited Liability Company (LLC) in the State of __________ Date of Formation __________________________ 
    Foreign* Partnership in the State of __________   Date of Formation __________________________  
 
 
MUST attach copies of the company’s Secretary of State Certificate & Articles of Incorporation or Formation from your state of origin or 
existence.  *Foreign Entities must also register with the Louisiana Secretary of State’s Office (La. SOS); submit copies of the paperwork 
filed with the La. SOS along with a copy of the Certificate of Good Standing issued by the La. SOS. 

http://www.lpsc.louisiana.gov/
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BUSINESS ENTITY- APPLICANT INFORMATION 
SECTION 1 (Continued) 

List Names of Officers and/or Members, Title and percentage of ownership or number of shares below.  

Name  Title (Corporations list President, Vice President, 
Secretary, Treasurer  and LLC companies list Members) 

Ownership percentage 
 

    

 
 
 
 

   

REPRESENTATION OF APPLICANT 
SECTION 2 

 

The applicant acknowledges and agrees that a proof of insurance (Form E) filing is required to be filed with the commission prior to the Commission issuing  

a Registration /Insurance receipt authorizing the carrier to commence intrastate for-hire operations. 

INSURANCE: (Name of Insurance Company) – 

 
VEHICLE REGISTERATION INFORMATION 

SECTION 3 

NUMBER OF VEHICLES OPERATED: - 

 
TOTAL FEES ENCLOSED: ($10.00 PER VEHICLE) - 

VERIFICATION 
SECTION 4 

 

STATE OF ______________________________PARISH/COUNTY OF _____________________________ 
 

BEFORE ME, the undersigned authority, ______________________________________________  
 

(Applicant) who represents ___________________________________________________________ (Business Entity) 
personally came and appeared, who, after being duly sworn, did depose and say that he/she is the APPLICANT in the 
above application; that he/she desires to secure from the Louisiana Public Service Commission a Insurance and 
Registration Certificate, authorizing the applicant to operate as a carrier of  passengers by Charter Bus with a seating 
capacity of 16 passengers or more as stated; and that he/she has read same and is familiar with the contents thereof and 
that facts as stated therein are true and correct, and to the best of his/her knowledge. FURTHERMORE, APPLICANT 
agrees to comply with all provisions of law and the rules and regulations of the Louisiana Public Service Commission 
respecting the operation of public service motor vehicles, and to file such evidence of insurance or bonds as required by 
law and by the rules and regulations of the Louisiana Public Service Commission prior to commencement of operations. 
And understands that the information contained in this application may be shared with the Louisiana Department of 
Revenue for purposes of Inspection and Supervision Fees. 
 

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me this _________ day of  _________, 20____ 
 
 
__________________________________________    __________________________________________ 
               PRINTED NAME OF APPLICANT  PRINTED NAME OF NOTARY PUBLIC  
 
 
__________________________________________    __________________________________________ 
           SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT   SIGNATURE OF NOTARY PUBLIC 
          (including Notary Seal & Number) 
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